Defensive Driving Course FAQ
Welcome to our Texas Defensive Driving Online Course FAQ page where you will find the answers to most of your questions. Should you need further assistance, contact us via email at or using our contact form and we will get back with you promptly, most times within the same business day.
What States is this course approved for?
For now, this course is approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation for the entire State of Texas. Keep in touch, more to come.
How does this course work?
This course was designed to be taken on your smart phone, iPad or any electronic device capable of downloading from the Internet. This course can be downloaded as an audio file to your device to give you the freedom to have your ticket dismissed, your insurance lowered, or both without being tied to a computer. You only need to connect to the Internet to download the podcasts and take the chapter quizzes.
How long is this course?
For defensive driving in the State of Texas, this course has to be a minimum of 6 hours, but that includes an hour of breaks. Of course you can take as long as you like but you cannot take less than 6 hours.
Is there a final test?
No. Instead of a single final test covering the material spread out over six hours or longer, we ask a few questions at the end of each chapter, while the material is still fresh in your head, and use that as a “final test”. There will be no long final separate quiz encompassing the entire course.
What do I need to take this course?
Any electronic device that can connect to the Internet, including smartphones, electronic tablets, computers, etc. The advantage of this course is that it is mobile like you. You do NOT have to be tied to a computer-go wireless!
How do I register from my Smartphone, iPad or any other mobile device or computer?
The registration process is the same no matter which device or computer the course is taken with, simply follow this link:
and fill out the form.
What do I need to register?
For ticket dismissal make sure you have requested the court to take defensive driving before registering with any defensive driving course. Once you have been allowed to take the defensive driving by the court
You will need:
1. Your driver’s license number.
2. The license plate number of the car you drive the most.
3. If you have a ticket to dismiss you will need the citation number off the ticket and your court date.
4. A credit or debit card. If you do not have a credit or debit card then call us and we’ll get you started right away while you mail us a payment. If you do not have a Texas driver license, please download, complete and send us this affidavit. (it will open in new window)
What kind of connection do I need to download the course?
Any kind of connection is good but as always, the faster the better. Your mobile network may have limits on data transfers and/or charges extra for downloads. To avoid data plans limits or extra charges you may want to download or play the course media while you have a WiFi connection. If you’re not sure, check with the service provider for your phone before you download.
How do I get my certificate?
We will mail your certificate of completion directly to YOU upon completion and passing of the course. You MUST SIGN the certificate before mailing it to the court. Texas law does not allow any defensive driving school to mail the certificate to the court, it has to mailed to you.
I waited until the last minute and need my certificate ASAP!
If you are like most of us and waited until the last minute to take the course, we can overnight the certificate to you. You have two chances to select the type of delivery your need; once during registration and once again at the end of the course. Of course you can call us at any time to switch your delivery options. Most courts allow 90 days for a student to complete the course. NOT ALL courts are the same and you should always verify how much time you have to complete the course. Judges are not very lenient when it comes to missing the due date.
What is the driver record and how do I get it?
Most, but not all, courts want a copy of your driver record sent in with the certificate you get from us. It comes from Austin and if you don’t have the time or patience to get it, we can get it for you. You can choose to have us get it during registration and then again at the end of the course.
What if I want my certificate mailed to a different address?
You have the option to add a different address during the registration but remember, WE CAN NOT, BY LAW, MAIL THE CERTIFICATE TO THE COURT. You must sign the certificate, so give us an address where you are sure you can receive the certificate.
What if I need a duplicate certificate?
You will receive two certificates upon completion of the course; one for the court and one for your insurance for a discount. A certificate that has been lost in the mail will require a 21 day waiting period before a replacement certificate can be issued (unless you chose overnight or two day delivery). If the certificate arrives mangled from the postal service, call us and we can issue a replacement sooner.
How much does it cost?
For only $30.00 you can have the freedom to get your ticket dismissed when and where you want while doing other things and NOT being tied to a computer or classroom.
Yes. It is all clearly spelled out in our Terms and Conditions, Privacy and Refund Policy. You will also have another chance to read this information before finalizing your online defensive driving course registration. We want to make sure any question you may have about our texas defensive driving online course has been answered. If you have any more questions, please use our contact page to get in touch with us.